First Times

After beng stuck inside for the last three months with the sinus infection from hell, I’m finally going to see some live music on the weekend. I’ll be seeing Little Red at what I belive to be their first Melbourne underage show.

Today I was talking to my friends who had decided they would come along about gigs and was quite shocked to discover that neither of them had seen live music before. This means that Saturday’s Little Red concert will be their first live music experience. It isn’t the first time that I’ve taken friends to their first concert and it probably won’t be the last. This isn’t helped by the fact that most of Melbourne’s all ages shows are geared towards the hardcore scene.

I guess I’m lucky to have a mum who is also a bit of a music junkie. We don’t always agree about certain bands (for example, she hates Little Red) but it’s handy to have somebody to borrow CDs from.ย  She also took me to my first concert.

When I was 12 The Living End were my favourite band and when she say that they were playing an underage show at the (old) Palace she decided to take me. To be honest, I can’t really remember much about the actual concert than being extremely excited and how amazed I was at how loud it was(something which she hadn’t warned me about). I suposse she shouldn’t have been that suprised when 6 months later I started learning the double bass.

I’m not sure what my Mum’s first concert was but I do know the first time she snuck into an overage gig was when she was around 16 to see The Little Murders and The Serious Young Insects back in the 80’s. Not that I condone that sort of thing….

The Little Murders-Take Me, I’m Yours

Also, Does anyone know where I can find music by The Serious Young insects? The only release by them I know of is an LP that my uncle has. And we don’t own a turntable.

2 comments on “First Times

  1. music=love says:

    Hey I know all about taking people to their first gig…I’m lucky like you because my parents actively encouraged my music obsession. I remember when I was 15 I wanted to see Janet Jackson and Dad came along. Then there was the time I was into Incubus and Dad came with me and I think I was about 16. By the way, I still take my family to concerts now!

    Just a quick question, how bad is the all aged shows scene? It’s been so long since I’ve gone to one but I think its pathetic that bands aren’t playing them because some of my fave gigs of all time were all aged shows.

    • Lauren says:

      The all ages scene is pretty pathetic at the moment.
      There aren’t many all ages shows and most of them feature emo and hardcore bands.
      While there is nothing wrong with this kind of music, I’d much rather listen to something else. The problem is that these kind of shows sell really well with the emo crowd, which means more are put on.
      And then there’s the problem of international acts only playing overage shows.

      And politicians wonder why we sit at home and binge drink….

Leave a Reply

