The Hottest 100 of All Time

I always get dissapointed and excited by these lists. I love the hottest 100. Since I was 11 I’ve been sitting by the radio every year and getting excited when my favourite song come on, only to be extremely annoyed a few hours later when the number 1 song is announced. The main problem I have with this countdowns is that the most popular tracks aren ot neccessarily the best ones.

For this years Hottest 100 of All Time, the number 1 song was Smells Like Teen Spirit by Nirvana. I’m a bit dissapointed by this. Not that it’s a bad song, it’s just been overplayed by just about everyone. Although if I hadn’t discovered Nirvana I would never have discovered all these great bands that I listen to today.

The whole countdown focused on the 90’s although to be fair it does take a few years to see if a song really is timeless. I was pretty annoyed about Sex On Fire making the list. It’s a popular song at the moment but I just don’t think that we will be listeing to it in 10 years time. Although I’m probably just bitter because it beat Bon Iver.

Quite a few people are dissapointed about the lack of female artists in the countdown and rightly so. Maybe they should start playing more female artists to try and balance this out. Although being Triple J, they’ll probably just play lots of Aussie hip-hop instead. Interestingly, only one Australian hip-hop song made it into the countdown. Maybe they can stop playing so much now.

Anyway, what did you want to get to number 1? What did you think of the overall countdown? Let us all know by leaving a comment.

Leave a Reply

