Big Day Out 2010 Line-Up

I have a confession to make: I have never been to the Big Day Out, mostly because it’s always the day before school goes back and my mum is one of those “school is important” parents. But  judging by the first line-up announcement, I think next year will be the year I finally go. The line-up is looking pretty good on the international front and there is no sign of Limp Bizket. On the local side of things, the usual  boring and big-ish Aussie bands are playing(Powderfinger, Grinspoon… zzzz) but there a few interesting bands I think the second line-up will feature some more exciting  local acts. It’s a bummer that the David Bowie rumours were false though. I would give my right arm to see him play live.

Muse
Powderfinger
Lily Allen
Eskimo Joe
Groove Armada
Grinspoon
The Mars Volta
Ladyhawke
Dizzee Rascal
Karnivool
Peaches
Girl Talk
The Temper Trap
Kasabian
Midnight Juggernauts
Rise Against
Magic Dirt
Mastodon
Lisa Mitchell
The Horrors
Bluejuice
Calvin Harris
Kisschasy
The Decemberists
Tame Impala

The tickets are released on different days depending on your state, and the dates are:

SUNDAY JANUARY 17th – GOLD COAST PARKLANDS
FRIDAY JANUARY 22nd – SYDNEY SHOWGROUND
TUESDAY JANUARY 26th – MELBOURNE FLEMINGTON RACECOURSE
FRIDAY JANUARY 29th – ADELAIDE SHOWGROUND
SUNDAY JANUARY 31st – PERTH CLAREMONT SHOWGROUND

6 comments on “Big Day Out 2010 Line-Up

  1. onthetune says:

    Karnivool, Muse, Ladyhawke, and Bluejuice would be awesome. I saw Powderfinger live with Silverchair in 2007. Though I don’t like Silverchair at all, I thought Powderfinger were amazing. Especially since they played a lot of stuff from “Vulture Street”, which is a brilliant album.

  2. Lauren says:

    Vulture Street is great but their last one bored me to tears. I’d like to hear what their new one will be like though.
    I convinced my friend to go to the BDO with me. Am definetly looking forward to Muse, even if the resistance is not their best in my opinion

  3. zico01 says:

    Dizzee and Kasabian , would be brilliant live…
    living in the uk, with only the slim prospect of seeing powderfinger live, I envy you, i agree a little with the hotel existance comment but their new stuff is supposed to be like ON5 !
    All the best Gareth

  4. onthetune says:

    Oh, yeah definitely. I Don’t Remember and Lost and Running were the only good ones off it, in my opinion. But yeah, I’m hoping this album is better.
    I haven’t heard The Resistance yet, but I heard it’s alright.

  5. Lauren says:

    The resistance is pretty good, but it is VERY over the top. You really have to be in the right mood for it, especially when it comes to the three part symphony. I should have a review for it up in the near-ish future.

  6. onthetune says:

    Ah okay, awesome. Muse can be a bit over the top sometimes though, but yeah. Looking forward to the review.

Leave a Reply

