Oh Mercy

I have a bit of a confession to make:

Although I was impressed by what very little of Oh Mercy’s material I had heard,Β  the real reason why I bought Oh Mercy’s In The Nude For Love EP was because I liked the title. And I really hope I’m not the only one, firstly because it would make me think that I’m not completely crazy for buying CDs based on their titles, and secondly, because it’s one of the best local releases I’ve heard all year.

Oh Mercy make the kind of dreamy pop music that even your Grandmother would probably appreciate (although they drop the f-bomb in Seems Like a Good Idea, so unless you have a really cool granny, perhaps not). It is very easy to see why they’ve been compared to the likes of The Go-Betweens and Augie March.

The band have also released an album Privileged Woes. While I am yet to hear it (I’m buying it as a “you survived your exams and didn’t go mental” present to myself in a few weeks), the first single Get You Back is a brilliant slice of laid-back pop music that will get stuck in your head. So don’t say I didn’t warn you.

www.myspace.com/ohmercyband

Leave a Reply

