Tuesday Covers 24/11/09

I was originally going to post an Andrew Bird cover today, but I had one of those days that reminded me why I love buying the physical copies of music so much.

Okkervil River are quite possibly my favourite band in the world right now and I saw their Overboard and Down EP which is quite hard to get at my local second-hand CD store for $12 and decided to buy it. The guy at the counter noticed it only had five tracks and discounted it to $8.

As you can imagine I was feeling pretty happy at this point and as I was ripping it, I had a look to see if it was on Ebay or Amazon and to my surprise apparently people are paying over $140 for it!! I think I just had a heart attack.

Anyway, the EP is amazing like most things Okkervil River release, especially Love To a Monster which is possibly the most bitter break-up song ever recorded. The EP also contains a cover of Big Star’s O Dana. It isn’t hugely different to the original, but uses horns which makes it sound kind of cheerful-at least for an Okkervil River song.

Okkervil River- O Dana.mp3

3 comments on “Tuesday Covers 24/11/09

  1. onthetune says:

    Woah! What a catch. Doubt you’d wanna sell it, but geez, that’s a bargain!

    • Lauren says:

      Part of me wants the money but my inner record collecter knows that I’ll probably never find another one anytime soon. So I’ll keep it until I’m drowning in debt

Leave a comment