New John Butler Trio Music Video

When you have been making music for as long as John Butler has, it would be easy to fall into the same routine and release the same album again and again.

Luckily he still manages to keep things interesting and part of this is forming a new Trio every few years. While it is sad to see previous members and amazing musicians in their own right, Shannon Birchall and Michael Barker leave, if his new single One Way Road is anything to go by, a new trio might just be a step in the right direction.

The video for One Way Road has just been released and the song is a bit of a departure from his Grand National sound, which I must admit  for the most part I wasn’t really in love with it. It’s definitely more upbeat and almost rocky while still retaining his signature sound. The riff sounds oddly familiar though. Does anyone else think this? It’s driving me mental trying to figure out where it’s from.

Also, if you are like most people and have trouble understanding the lyrics, they’re included in the description when you watch it on youtube.

3 comments on “New John Butler Trio Music Video

  1. onthetune says:

    I’ve heard people claim he’s trying to appeal more to the mainstream by playing a song based just around chords, but I disagree. I really like this song, it’s awesome. Dunno about that riff though, sorry lol.

  2. Lauren says:

    Apparently it sounds like mmbop..not to sure about that one. I’ll keep working on it.
    I don’t think he is the kind of artist who would purposly try and appeal to the mainstream. He’s still independent which is good.

    I got the single in the mail, so hopefully I’ll have review of it sometime this week(I just got a job, which means less posting time but more money for CDs. YAY)

    • onthetune says:

      Haha, the chords kinda sound like mmbop, but it’s very very faint. I think they’re clutching at weak threads with that claim. And yeah, I don’t think he’d bother trying to just appeal to the mainstream either.
      Nice work on getting a job too! That’s pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

