Elvis’ 75th Birthday

When I was four or five my Dad would come home from work, put  on his best of Elvis CD  and dance with me and my sister. It is because of my Dad’s bad dancing skills and Elvis that I leant what return to sender meant, that suede was kind of material used to make blue shoes and that you can wear rings around your neck. However, the most important thing I leant from Elvis, and my dad, was that song lyrics can tell stories and aren’t  just there to sound good, which makes Elvis to blame for my lyrics obsession.

If Elvis was still  alive he would have turned 75 today and while it may be incredibly uncool to say this, I still enjoy listening to his music from time to time.  To celebrate the King’s birthday I thought I would post some Elvis tracks. I was originally going to post his best songs, but you’ve all heard those. Instead I thought I would treat you to some of his forgotten gems. And they’re forgotten for a reason.

This one is just too funny not to share. I think the opening lines sum it up perfectly “Now, I’m a U.S. Male ’cause I was born/In a Mississippi town on a Sunday morn/Now Mississippi just happens to occupy a place/In the southeastern portion of this here United States” Cringe.

Elvis Presley- U.S Male.mp3

Girls in bikinis. Girls in tight sweaters. Girls in short dresses. Wow. He really did have a one-track mind. They should have just named this track “Anthem for a seventeen-year-old boy.” At least the music doesn’t suck.

Elvis Presley- Girls! Girls! Girls!.mp3

At least with the other two songs on the list, the music was decent enough to detract from the lyrics,  however with this next song, this is not the case. Dominic is a slow, plodding number that could send you to sleep. The lyrics aren’t any better either and with lines like: “Better start pickin’ some woo/Moo, moo, move your little foot do!” it makes U.S Male look like a masterpiece.

Elvis Presley- Dominic.mp3

I thought this next track was best accompanied by the video. It’s called Yoga Is As Yoga Does and is, as the title suggests, about yoga. It’s corny, cringeworthy and the choreography isn’t much better. The only positive thing about it is that it was before Elvis’ fat stage.

One comment on “Elvis’ 75th Birthday

  1. anna turnerq says:

    love it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

