The Decemberists Annouce New Album

For many Decemberists fans, last year’s The Hazards of Love was a bit of a disappointment. Colin Meloy and co have always been a bit theatrical but the fairy-tale concept album took to the extreme. It’s a relief then, to hear that their recently announced follow-up The King is Dead will be much more restrained, featuring guest stars such as Gillian Welch and Peter Buck for 10 Americana influenced tracks. The album will be released on the 18th of January 2011 however the first single, Down By The Water has already been released and it is definitely a return to form.

The album’s tracklist is:

01 “Don’t Carry It All”
02 “Calamity Song”
03 “Rise To Me”
04 “Rox In The Box”
05 “January Hymn”
06 “Down By The Water”
07 “All Arise!”
08 “June Hymn”
09 “This Is Why We Fight”
10 “Dear Avery”

The Decemberists- Down By The Water.mp3


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s