White Album Concert

Cover songs are always a bit risky. While they are great when they work, they can be disasterous if they don’t, especially when it comes to covers of particualy well known and well loved songs.

So god knows why a bunch of Aussie artists have decided to cover The Beatle’s White Album in it’s enterity at one gig. Chris Cheny(The Living End),  Tim Rogers(You Am I), Josh Pyke and Phil Jamieson(Grinspoon)  will be backed by a 17 peice band and perfom at Hamer Hall on August 4, QPAC on August 6 and at the Sydney Opera House on the 7th and 8th of August.

I have a sneaking suspision that this will all come off sounding  like bad karaoke however I hope that I’m wrong. Especially since tickets are selling for $129 each.

What do you reckon? Is it a good idea or an expensive excuse for karoke?

2 comments on “White Album Concert

  1. music=love says:

    This is dangerous territory for me as the White Album is my fave Beatles record and it will never live up to the original in my opinion. However, I do appreciate a good Beatles cover and the movie Across the Universe despite being a cliche story has some really innovative covers so it could be good. Are you going? Me…can’t afford but I wish I could.

  2. Lauren says:

    I’ve never seen across the universe. I’ll have to rent it.
    I would love to go but I really can’t justify the ticket price. It seems a bit rediculous considering they’re all Australian Musicians, and not majorly big ones at that.
    It’s cheaper to go and see AC/CD, which, fingers crossed, I hope to be doing.

Leave a comment